DUI Penalties/Driver’s License Suspension

Get Back on the Road with The Mobley Law Firm

Get Back on the Road with The Mobley Law Firm

Contact us for DUI representation in Columbia, SC or the surrounding areas

Have you recently been charged with a DUI? You could be facing fines, license suspension, jail time and more. Don’t let your minor DUI keep you from running errands, getting to work and keeping a job. Make sure you’re properly represented in court by choosing The Mobley Law Firm in Columbia for help. Call 803-933-0010 now to schedule a consultation.

Navigate complicated DUI laws with help from our experienced lawyer

DUI laws in South Carolina are more complicated than you might think. South Carolina is one of 42 states with Administrative License Revocation procedures – meaning your license can be revoked immediately if your blood alcohol content is above .08 or if you refuse to take the test.
Even if you’re not charged with a DUI, your license will be confiscated. However, you will be given a 10-day grace period where you are allowed to drive under a temporary permit issued by the officer who stopped you.

While you’re driving with your temporary license, you can request a hearing to challenge the case. If you do not request a hearing in that time frame, your license will be automatically suspended for six months on the 11th day.

Besides getting your license immediately revoked, there are numerous other consequences you’ll face – including being required to install an interlock device in your car if this is your second offense. Ramifications range from a misdemeanor charge for the first offense to a felony charge for the fourth.

License Revocation, Fines and Jail

First Offense

Misdemeanor

  • BAC of 0.08% to less than 0.10%: 48 hours to 30 days in jail (possible 48 hours of public service employment in lieu of the minimum 48 hours jail time), up to $400 fine, 6 months license suspension, mandatory alcohol and drug safety action program
  • BAC of 0.10% to less than 0.16%: 72 hours to 30 days in jail (possible 48 hours of public service employment in lieu of the minimum 72 hours jail time), up to $500 in fines, 6 months license suspension, mandatory alcohol and drug safety action program
  • BAC of 0.16% or above: 30 to 90 days in jail (possible 30 days of public service employment in lieu of the minimum 72 hours jail time), up to $1,000 in fines, 6 months license suspension, mandatory alcohol and drug safety action program, interlock device required.

Second Offense

Misdemeanor

  • BAC of 0.08% to less than 0.10%: 5 days to 1 year in jail, $2,100 to $5,100 in fines, 1 year license suspension, 2 years ignition interlock restriction upon license reinstatement after suspension, mandatory alcohol and drug safety action program.
  • BAC of 0.10% to less than 0.16%: 30 days to 2 years in jail, $2,500 to $5,500 fine, 1 year license suspension, 2 years ignition interlock restriction upon license reinstatement after suspension, mandatory alcohol and drug safety action program.
  • BAC of 0.16% or more: 90 days to 3 years in jail, $3,500 to $6,500 fine, 1 year license suspension, 2 years ignition interlock restriction upon license reinstatement after suspension, mandatory alcohol and drug safety action program.

Third Offense

Misdemeanor

  • BAC of 0.08% to less than 0.10%: 60 days to 3 years in jail, $3,800 to $6,300 in fines, 2 years license suspension (4 years if within 5 years of first offense), 3 years ignition interlock restriction upon license reinstatement after suspension, mandatory alcohol and drug safety action program.
  • BAC of 0.10% to less than 0.16%: 90 days to 4 years in jail, $5,000 to $7,500 fine, 2 years license suspension (4 years if within 5 years of first offense), 3 years ignition interlock restriction upon license reinstatement after suspension, mandatory alcohol and drug safety action program.
  • BAC of 0.16% or more: 6 months to 5 years in jail, $7,500 to $10,000 in fines, 2 years license suspension (4 years if within 5 years of first offense), 3 years ignition interlock restriction upon license reinstatement after suspension, mandatory alcohol and drug safety action program

Fourth Offense

Felony

  • BAC of 0.08% to less than 0.10%: 1 to 5 years in jail, up to $25,000 fine, permanent license revocation (may petition circuit court for reinstatement after 7 years), lifetime ignition interlock restriction if and when license is reinstated (may apply to remove interlock restriction after 10 years), mandatory alcohol and drug safety action program.
  • BAC of 0.10% to less than 0.16%: 2 to 6 years in jail, up to $25,000 fine, permanent license revocation (may petition circuit court for reinstatement after 7 years), lifetime ignition interlock restriction if and when license is reinstated (may apply to remove interlock restriction after 10 years), mandatory alcohol and drug safety action program.
  • BAC of 0.16% or more: 3 to 7 years in jail, up to $25,000 fine, permanent license revocation (may petition circuit court for reinstatement after 7 years), lifetime ignition interlock restriction if and when license is reinstated (may apply to remove interlock restriction after 10 years), mandatory alcohol and drug safety action program